Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Fashion advice from a 7-year-old

with one comment

“Mummy, why do you always wear those dresses?” asked DD as I was getting dressed today.

She was talking about two linen maxi dresses I bought from Mango in spring 2008. I liked the style so much I got one in black and one in pale pink. The latter’s not so useful but the black one’s fab. I wear it all the time. As DD noticed today.

A maxi dress - glamour on the go, or no, no, no?

I’ve even sewn up tears in it twice – not that DD knows that – and, trust me, I have to really love a piece of clothing to get out the needle and thread.

“Because I like them and they cover everything and they’re really cool when it’s hot,” I said, slipping the pink one over my head.

“But I hate them,” she said. “I don’t like the top bits and I don’t like the colours. And you always wear them to my birthday parties.” This last bit so accusingly it was almost whingey. “Why do you always wear them to my birthday parties?”

She’s right. Her birthday’s in April and the party’s always outdoors. I wear the dresses because I can get away with flat shoes without looking stumpy-legged – and because they’re cool when I’m running around after small children in 38-degree heat while kidding myself I look semi-glamorous. The black dress made its debut at her third birthday party, with wedges, as I remember, hoop earrings and a chunky bangle.

I said as much to DD.

“Well, this year, when I’m seven, I’m choosing what you’re wearing to my birthday party and it’s not going to be one of those dresses. My friends will think that’s all you’ve got,” she huffed.

Daughters. Who’d have ‘em?

Written by mrsdubai

September 10, 2011 at 9:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I’ve just identified the ‘Susannah’ to the blonde’s ‘Trinny’!!

    twinsmummy

    September 11, 2011 at 6:28 pm


Leave a Reply

