Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Conversations in the back of the car

with 2 comments

DD’s friend brought her back a present from her summer holidays. It was a model of the Statue of Liberty. She didn’t get that in Hamleys, I thought.

“Did you go to new York?” I asked, as DD stroked the model lovingly – it was from Best Friend (BF), after all. 

“Yes,” she said. “I went to that big toy shop,” she said. “The one that was in the Smurfs movie.”

“Wow,” I said, thinking of our own tiny cottage in the New Forest. “What was your favourite bit of the holiday?” (I love asking kids this question – you get the most surprising answers).

“Hmm,” she said, thoughtfully. “Niagara Falls. Going in the boat. They gave us jackets, but I still got really wet!”

“You went to Canada, too?” I was just checking.

“Yep. Toronto. And Vancouver. Lake Louise – we saw black bears there. Whistler.”

“Wow,” I said, impressed that she could remember the names. The girl is only six years old!

“Oh. And Italy,” she added. Then she remembered DD sitting next to her in the back. “What did you do this summer?” she asked.

It was the sort of moment every mum dreads. Had I not offered enough of a “wow” factor for my children this summer? No Icelandic cruise, no Disneyworld, no climbing of the pyramids, no private jet?

There was a pause.

“I went on a roller-coaster,” said DD finally, injecting as much “wow” factor into her voice as a human being possibly could. Without looking, I knew she was raising her eyebrows to communicate the massive excitement her friend should feel, along with a hopeful smile.

I really felt for DD. New York, Toronto, Vancouver, Whistler, Lake Louise and the Amalfi Coast, and all she could offer was a kids’ rollercoaster at Paulton’s Park.

“Wow,” said BF. “I’ve never been on a rollercoaster.”

 

The "Stinger" at Paulton's Park - as exciting as life got for DD this summer. Well, it got a squeal out of me, too.

 

Written by mrsdubai

September 5, 2011 at 5:46 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good luck to the jet setting kids to survive in the real world once they leave Dubai.

    You are doing the right thing by providing them with some normality at least during summer.

    sebbatas

    September 7, 2011 at 10:19 am

  2. Classic! BB would have said he went on a steam train in Wales!

    Circles in the Sand

    September 11, 2011 at 12:15 am


Leave a Reply

