Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Mrs Dubai does Zumba

with one comment

I don’t know what made me do it – try a Zumba class, I mean. Really, what was I thinking? I’m the girl who hasn’t been to an exercise class since I was 17 (that’s 23 years!) and I quit that one because I was defeated by the complexity of “the grapevine”.

Clearly this is not me because I am blonde. The abs could be mine, though.

But, you know, it’s too hot for cycling and horse-riding and, given my love of a cold Sauvignon / gin & tonic / champagne / sometimes even a beer, it was the best thing I could come up with to stay in shape. Ever since DH laughed at my dancing when I was 19, I’ve fancied learning to dance, so I was also secretly hoping I’d discover a love of Zumba, become slim and trim, and learn some impressive booty moves I could throw at our next Christmas party.

After all, the Zumba website describes it as “an exhilarating, effective, easy-to-follow, Latin-inspired, calorie-burning dance fitness-party™ that’s moving millions of people toward joy and health.”

Goodness knows, I could do with some exhilarating.

So there I was this morning, putting up a valiant attempt, I thought, at trying to dance the steps whilst shaking my booty and waving my arms in the air and keeping up with the relentless beat of the music. And then something funny happened: I realised I knew some of the moves. In fact, I’ve danced them a million times.

They were from “Stepping Dance” by the Teletubbies. You can see it on You Tube. At 1.08 mins you’ll see the bit I’m talking about. And, while my Zumba technique needs some work, I don’t think anyone will deny that I did a fine job of dancing like a Teletubbie.

Written by mrsdubai

May 31, 2011 at 3:47 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eh-oh Tinky Winky!

    DH

    May 31, 2011 at 5:14 pm


Leave a Reply

