Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

On having a social life

leave a comment »

My social life, it seems, is totally like London buses.

Nothing for six years and then five events in 24 hours. And of course, in the true vein of one not used to going out much, I started wondering a little about how I was going to juggle these events, not least the sartorial challenges of needing to be crawling along plastic tubes and having ketchup thrown at me at a child’s party at midday, followed by sitting in the Ritz-Carlton DIFC with a bunch of professionals at 12.30pm, followed by being at a glamorous fashion show at 6pm.

The DVF wrap 'n' heels - not conducive to crawling along tubes at the jungle gym

And that’s not counting the romantic date night at the comedy show I’d booked as a birthday treat for DH and I for tonight. Which was outdoors. In the heat.

But then DS sorted it all out for me, the little trooper, by vomiting at 4am. And again at 2pm. All over me.

“That’s it,” I said to DH. “We won’t be able to go out tonight as it’s unfair to leave Gerlie with a vomity child, and he won’t be able to go to the party tomorrow because….” Well, it’s just not right to send a potentially vomity child to a party, especially if mummy needs to be in a DVF wrap dress and skinny heels – right?

So, thanks to DS and his tonne of puke on all over me, all I now have to do is drop DD off at a party, then dress for a sophisticated lunch at the R-C DIFC followed by a networking / fashion event, while DH stays home with pukey DS (and packs for his week-long trip to London…. uh).

Co-parenting at its finest.

Written by mrsdubai

May 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

