Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The hills are alive…

with one comment

Dubai is currently being entertained by a theatre show of “The Sound of Music”. Given it’s DD’s favourite ever movie (even more favourite than Hannah Montana and the now-forgotten HSM), I booked for us all to go today, as a birthday treat for her.

This is the uniform DD dreams about having...

But the interest started back in January when I tried to persuade DD that she should audition for a part in the show. I mean, she knows all the songs and all the dances and longs for a Von Trapp family uniform as something to change into after school. Her main issue is that, as a six-year-old, she can’t decide if she should be the littlest one, who I think is five (Greta?), or the slightly up-sized one (Marta?), who I think is seven. That, and the fact that she has zero confidence and is shy singing in front of me, let alone a 500-strong audience.

So she didn’t try out for a part and today we tootled along as audience to watch the show. Was there any point, though?  DD spent the entire two-and-a-half-hour show singing each song, speaking every line and turning to me in consternation every time they added something that wasn’t in the movie.

As we walked back to the car, she said, “Mummy, that was the best show I’ve seen in my life. Thank you so much for taking me.”

I made suitable noises along the lines of being touched.

“You know, I think I could have been Greta,” she said quietly. “She didn’t have to say a lot, and I liked her pink nightie.”

Written by mrsdubai

April 16, 2011 at 9:51 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. god love her!

    Britney of Arabia

    April 17, 2011 at 12:21 pm


Leave a Reply

