Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The private yoga lesson

with 4 comments

At some point, and quite possibly under the influence of more than a glass of wine, I signed up for a clutch of private yoga lessons.

In theory, it’s a good idea: I spend much of my time slouched at my desk, either working or micro-managing our lives on the internet and, since turning 40, I’ve been waking up with stiff and aching joints. Yoga would be the ideal complement to my cycling (and, um, horse-riding), no?

So, this morning I opened the door to find my new yoga instructor standing there, mat under his arm, looking remarkably younger and more handsome than I’d ever imagined he would (my last experience with yoga – about 12 years ago – involved an instructor as old as the hills, who looked as you might imagine God to look, and farted every time he bent over).

As we faced each other in the morning sunshine of the garden, the birds singing and a fresh breeze fanning our faces, I explained that I was a beginner.

 

One day I might manage to put my feet on my thighs like this while chanting "Om".... one day....

 

“Don’t worry,” he said. “You can’t do entire stretch, no problem. Just do your 100 per cent; just what’s 100 per cent for you, even if hands not reach the floor.”

What about if hands only reach knees, I wondered.

Anyway it became clear, as I panted my way through the warm-up, that he simply couldn’t believe how unsupple I was. “Palms on floor”, I noticed, was amended several times to “palms on calves” and there was an embarrassing moment when I had to respond to “Lift legs as high as you can” with a rather strangled “I am.”

But, as we gently eased the creaky lady through a series of asanas, what amused me most about the lesson was my teacher’s constant instruction: “Maintain” (usually as my legs, arms or torso flopped back to the floor or my muscles trembled in protest) and “Breathing, continue.” Because sometimes I forgot.

I loved my yoga lesson, but I have to admit: It’s much harder than it looks. Who thought stretching could be so hard-core? I was due another lesson tomorrow but I’ve had to cancel because I can hardly walk now (six hours after). I just know I’m not even going to be able to get out of bed tomorrow without the help of my friend Brufen.

Written by mrsdubai

March 28, 2011 at 7:32 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi I am a yoga instructor.
    I feel that you are a good student thats the reason you were unable to walk or get up the following day.(because you give your 100%)
    Jiten.
    if you need to support let me know.
    0504577408.

    Jitendra

    July 5, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  2. hi my name is jomon.i am 7 year experience certificated yoga teacher.i can help u with yoga.if u have any physical probulams,call me 0529843001

    jomon

    August 29, 2013 at 9:26 am

  3. Thanks for sharing superb informations. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog.

    Private Yoga Classes Dubai 

    singhjasnit

    January 9, 2014 at 9:33 am

  4. Thanks for sharing superb informations. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog.

    Private Yoga Classes Dubai 

    singhjasnit

    January 16, 2014 at 9:17 am


Leave a Reply

