Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Holidays with(out) kids

with 3 comments

Okay, let’s be honest: I’m feeling a little sorry for myself. Yes, I know I have a loving and healthy family, a beautiful home, a divine swimming pool and it’s 25 degrees and sunny, but…  with National Day and Islamic New Year, this weekend’s a long holiday for many people.

Forgive me for pointing out the obvious but, for a Housewife, that just means everyone’s at home, requiring attention, breakfasts, lunches, dinners, snacks and nappy changes. Visits to the park, help with colouring-in and Christmas trees put up.

A four-day holiday for me would be the day the schools sent a note home saying, “We’re keeping your children Monday to Thursday inclusive this week. They’re not coming home.”

Anyway, the reason I’m feeling quite so sorry for myself over this long weekend “holiday” is because three of my friends – mothers, all of them – have disappeared off to different countries for almost a week each – WITHOUT their children.

And I have to admit, I’m a little jealous.

One’s gone to New York, Christmas shopping, as you do. Another’s gone to London – Christmas shopping – though I don’t truly envy her (I’d be happy just to take the business class flights there and back and not get off the plane. The thought of seven hours uninterrupted with a bottle of wine, a couple of movies and some sleep without children sounds very tempting to me right now). The third’s gone to Hong Kong.

Forget the Christmas shopping, I'd be grateful just to have the flight time alone

 

I banged on about it to DH, doing the old “woe is me” routine until he said, “Do you really, really want to do something like that?”  He’s pretty special. If I said yes, I think he’d try to help me make it happen.

I thought hard for about 10 seconds.

“No, not really,” I said. I realised that I’d miss them all too much. I don’t want to be that far away from them. I’d settle for an uninterrupted night’s sleep in a Dubai hotel; a spa treatment that doesn’t involve leaping off the treatment table and straight into the car to cook three different dinners against the clock before throwing the children in a bathtub; a room service dinner watching TV in bed; a lazy breakfast that comes on a tray with a flower; a little lie by the pool with the Sunday papers and home after a slap-up lunch at the pool bar. The Burj Al Arab would be nice.

Easily pleased, me. DH, are you listening?

Written by mrsdubai

December 3, 2010 at 7:34 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How absolutely true! I am happy to report that this dec we are on holiday without the (husband’s) kids. Two weeks of seaside bliss and divine luxury. (Hotel stays are not ideal with kidlets around). I prefer my crisp white linen, lovely lingerie and champagne baths without curious kids around. Next dec is our turn. Two weeks. Oi. Do you think I can convince hubby to hire a chef, cleaner and general Johny-keep-them-busy for the period ? Maybe a cute male Italian/greek au pair?

    christa

    December 4, 2010 at 10:40 am

  2. If you need any company at the Burj, I’m sure I could be free…x

    twinsmummy

    December 8, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  3. Kids are a drag. I hope you had a good weekend.

    Dubai Guy

    January 20, 2011 at 7:29 am


Leave a Reply

