Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Custom-Made Sofa

with 5 comments

After nine months of searching for my ideal sofa – or in fact for just any acceptable sofa – I’ve discovered a company that will custom-make sofas for a reasonable cost.

What I want is not dissimilar to this one from Pottery Barn. Only without the rounded armrests.... and a little more modern looking....

Believe me, I wanted to buy a readymade one, but they were all either too low, too soft, too small, too narrow, the wrong colour, the wrong fabric or not washable.

I’ve stood in Ikea trying to persuade myself that a tiny yet washable sofa is perfect; I’ve drooled over squishy sofas in Pottery Barn only to find the fabrics are not washable (I have a toddler of the male variety!).

I almost ordered one from Crate and Barrel only to realise the wrong colour was so hideously wrong I’d probably vomit all over it. I’ve hidden my shock that Ethan Allen takes eight months to deliver. I’ve thought about leather; I‘ve thought about cheap sofas and expensive sofas; I’ve trawled Marina, The One and Outlet Mall. I’ve been in every over-priced French showroom, mooned through Natuzzi and flirted with the good-looking chap in Mobilia.

Ultimately, I’ve sat on our 13-year-old, fraying, stained and squashed sofa, which we bought to celebrate our wedding and have already had restuffed once, and cried over how we’re going to replace it.

So today I went to the furniture-making company with a handful of sketches and measurements of my ideal sofa (funnily enough, I was thrown out of art class aged just 12. “Did you draw these yourself?” asked Rashid-the-clerk of my 3D renderings. “No,” I said. “My five-year-old did.”).

I talked to him about fabrics and slip covers, foam and Dacron, piping, studding (no thanks!), seat-to-armrest ratio, armrest shape, scatter cushions and feet.

“Do you know what I mean?” I asked hopelessly, as he nodded vigorously.

“No problem,” he said. “We make you nice sofa. We are professionals.”

It was indeed a leap of faith.  I handed over the thousand pound deposit, shook his hand and walked out with my fingers crossed.

It’ll be ready in 20 days. Inshallah.

Written by mrsdubai

September 7, 2010 at 10:09 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » Today was the day my new custom-made sofa should have been […]

    • hello,
      i’ve the same problem..no one sofa lokks like the one I want.
      What about your new sofa? quality?
      Can I ask you the price and which is the furniture-making company?
      Thank you
      michi

      michi

      December 9, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      • Hi Michi
        I used a company called Everest which is based is Al Quoz, close to Natuzzi. The quality is good, the workmanship is excellent – they really did a good job. Tel: 04-3386255 – if you Google them, there’s some more info and a map online. Probably best to visit in person and see if you think they can help you. They seemed very popular with Western expats. The price was more than Ikea but very reasonable for what I had made – cheaper than shops like Pottery Barn or Crate & Barrel.
        Hope that helps!

        mrsdubai

        December 13, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  2. Hey! Great story! I have exactly the same problem with my perfect sofa. It’s not exist:) Could you please tell me what is the name of the company ? And is it much more expensive that to buy in the regular store?

    Yulianna

    January 1, 2015 at 11:49 pm

    • Hello. I used Everest Furniture Company. http://everrest.ae/
      They were not more expensive than many of the sofas I saw in the higher-end stores, though obviously more than somewhere like Ikea. A lot depends on the fabric you choose. Good luck!

      mrsdubai

      January 4, 2015 at 5:41 pm


Leave a Reply

