Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Things I Miss About England

with 5 comments

Okay, I know I’ve lived in Dubai since time itself began (at least in Dubai) and I moved here chiefly because I didn’t much like England in the first place, but there are a few things I miss about it, especially at this time of year, when many of my friends are filling Facebook with blissful little updates about life in Blighty.

So, here goes – this is what I miss:

–          Light summer evenings, when the last orangey hues of the sunset finally, finally leave the sky long after 9pm.

–          Big, juicy roses that grow on bushes not in cellophane packets, and the smell of them on a long summer evening (see above).

–          Fish & chips with ‘real’ chips and ‘English curry’ take-aways.

–          The buzz in the air on a warm Friday evening in London, when everyone spills out of the pub and onto the streets with their drinks and everybody likes everybody else.

–          ‘M…m…m…m…m….m….m…m…More Milkshake’ on Channel 5. A saviour when your kids wake far too early because they’re still on Dubai time.

–          Pubs. Pubs that have kids’ menus, colouring and really good grub.

–          Shopping in Tesco, where everything’s in stock and cheap as chips, too.

–          Licensed cafes in shopping malls. A glass of wine and a sandwich after a spin around GAP? How civilised is that!

–          Customer service in shops. These guys seem genuinely happy to help you!

–          Fresh air and sky that, when it’s blue, is really truly sparkly blue.

–          Marks & Spencers food section.

And, linked to that, here are pictures of two things I’m not going to miss in Dubai. 

Things I won't miss from Dubai: paying £6.80 for an average pack of own-brand breakfast cereal

Things I won't miss: air so clogged with dust and humidity the sky is as white as the endless sand

Written by mrsdubai

July 28, 2010 at 7:51 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are totally right… I miss those things about England too… but, like you, not even those things are enough to make me want to live there again. Still, it is nice to be nostalgic 🙂 Absence makes the heart grow fonder e.t.c. :))

    Amy

    July 29, 2010 at 7:26 am

    • You’re right Amy – I love those things but once a year’s enough, lol!

      mrsdubai

      July 30, 2010 at 5:46 pm

  2. One of my parents’ favourite past-times in Dubai is rooting around Spinneys..then shouting to one another: “guess how much this is?!!”. Sad, but true!

    Britney of Arabia

    July 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  3. My husband was approached by a headhunter last week about a job in Dubai. With the prospect of a major life change on the horizon (we live in London) I get Googling. An iPhone challenge at our Suffolk holiday home with on/off connectivity. Your blog is a real find (“Dubai housewife” gave some interesting results!) and is giving me a great flavour of the sort of life I might lead. Thank you for a fun and informative read. And by the way, I can’t get Channel 5 here either!

    Thinkingwoman

    July 30, 2010 at 2:12 am

    • Hello Thinkingwoman, Thanks for your comments and for reading 🙂
      Wishing you both luck with the decision. Be sure that your DH has job security here, and a good enough package/salary. I’m always here if you have questions and, if you need help of a more practical nature, the women on the Dubai Forum at http://www.expatwoman.com are always willing to answer questions.
      Maybe see you out here sometime…!
      Mrs Dubai

      mrsdubai

      July 30, 2010 at 5:46 pm


Leave a Reply

