Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Sign of a Good Holiday

with one comment

We got back from the Seychelles this morning.

The Seychelles are marvellous if you live in Dubai and have little kids. In just four hours, with no vaccinations and no time difference, you’re teleported from the scorching heat of the arid desert to the lush greenery and sweet simplicity of these interesting, tropical islands. There’s even a day flight on the way out, though the night-flight return is a bit of an endurance test (and totally unnecessary if you ask me).

Clock tower in Mahe's quaint capital, Victoria. There's more to the Seychelles than beaches, beaches, beaches

And today, although we were only away for a week, I’ve been flailing around the house like a trout out of water and wondering what on earth it is I have to start doing again tomorrow.  

I’m aware that alarm clocks will ring, DH will put on socks and shoes and slide his tanned body into a shirt, a tie and a suit; I will pack snack bags and drop children to summer schools, and then I will… do what?

My brain is made of marshmallow. Grocery shopping, a work deadline, an internet cafe, cooking, a complex drop-off and pick-up arrangement for the kids – vague ideas are circulating in the mental soup but I can’t seem to get a handle on anything. I know there needs to be efficiency – the sort I usually practise every single day – but it all seems beyond me today.

It’s the sign of good holiday, I think.

More on the Seychelles when I get my brain back.

Written by mrsdubai

July 17, 2010 at 3:21 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. welcome back! hol sounds vv good.

    Britney of Arabia

    July 19, 2010 at 1:19 pm


Leave a Reply

