Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

‘Mummy, Your Breath Smells Of Gin & Tonk’

leave a comment »

Electrical sockets, stairs and eating dead ants. What is it about boys?

 ‘Darling, if you knew the day I’d had, you’d understand.’

Rewind to 6.30am when, slightly late, DD and I arrive in the kitchen. The lights are off, the blinds down, the coffee’s not on, Gerlie’s not there.

But there is a note on the counter explaining that she’s not feeling well and is taking the day off.

Oh.

I’m not the sort who can’t handle her kids – honest – but to me it’s all about planning. If I’d known last night that I’d be alone, I’d have made DD’s lunch the night before, and got up a bit earlier this morning.  I’d have been on it like a military campaign.

Anyway, there’s nothing like a bit of pressure to make me perform. By 7.10am, I’d got DD up, breakfasted, hair and teeth done, uniform on, lunch made and packed off to school with PE kit, swimming kit and reading folder. DS had been changed, dressed and breakfasted, and I’d even made and drunk a cup of coffee. I almost felt smug.

But…

… by 7.30am, DS had stuck his fingers in the electric socket, licked the bidet, ‘investigated’ the stairs and eaten both the cover of ‘Campaign’ magazine and the contents of the bathroom bin – all while I’d done nothing but wash my face and realise there was no way on earth I was going to get a shower in the next 12 hours.

I really hope Gerlie feels better tomorrow.

Written by mrsdubai

March 7, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

