Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Sometimes I Simply Can’t Believe It

with 3 comments

Haven’t we all had moments when the red tape pertaining to something appears to be so clearly wrong that it leaves you totally speechless?

Won't it look luvlie with a metal fence with a beige plastic sheet stuck on?

And let’s face it, those of us living in Dubai possibly have more of those moments than most people.

I had one myself today. I’m not annoyed – just kind of baffled, really.

So here’s the thing. Our garden faces directly onto a community park with a kids’ play area. The park ground level is higher than our garden and there’s only a low fence, so it’s really easy for us to step up to the park or, more worryingly, for little kids or dogs to jump down to our garden – and fall into the (deep) pool.

Me, I think that’s a safety hazard.

So I asked our property developer for permission to put up a nice wooden fence. I was going to commission a classy, slatted one in meranti wood to match our pergola.

Not only would it give us some privacy around the pool (let’s face it, I’m not keen on being watched by 20 Filipina housemaids when I’m in my bikini; neither do I like DD being ogled by the park landscapers when she’s in hers), but it would also prevent Other People’s Kids from falling over the tiny fence and into my pool. Or even from standing forlornly at my fence begging for ice creams while their mothers drool at my jug of Pimm’s.

It’s a no-brainer, no?

No. The property developer said we can’t have a fence because ‘We have to protect the looks of the community.’

‘But what about safety?’ I asked. ‘What about privacy?’

Turns out I can’t have a handcrafted, slatted, stylish wooden fence that matches our pergola, but I can have a metal fence with a beige plastic sheet sellotaped to it ‘for privacy’, so the garden stays in keeping ‘with the beauty of the community.’

Nice one, Emaar.

Written by mrsdubai

February 7, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG total insanity!!

    TJ

    February 7, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  2. that is so typical of them!!!

    Jules

    February 8, 2010 at 9:37 am

  3. And EMAAR does it again…

    Flotch

    February 8, 2010 at 9:53 am


Leave a Reply

