Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Big Brother’s Watching

with one comment

A friend did the school pick-up for me today so I had a little bit of time to myself. Can you guess what I did with it? Cook dinner? Have a nap as DS had me up at 4.50am? Go shopping? Get my nails done?

Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah and World projects, taken from on board the NASA Space Station, January 13, 2010. Love it!

None of the above. 

Thanks to a story in 7 Days newspaper, I discovered the NASA Earth Observatory website. What a fascinating website that is! If only it had been around when I was studying for Geography O-level, it would have brought the syllabus alive. I couldn’t tear myself away today. Basically, it’s loads of pictures of the Earth, taken from space.

It’s like being Big Brother on a global scale. You can see volcanoes, crops, droughts, floods, human activity, buildings and stunning images of the day. You can track how land has changed over the years in terms of deforestation, drought and melting ice caps; you can even track the surface temperature of the earth in any given area.

I’m going to shut up now as I’m sounding like a geography geek, but if you ever have five minutes, check out the website: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/

It is, quite possibly, the most interesting thing I’ve ever found online.

Written by mrsdubai

February 4, 2010 at 6:57 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG – i thought google earth was good until i saw this! love it!

    Kelly

    February 7, 2010 at 4:33 pm


Leave a Reply

