Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Reality Check

with 4 comments

I was going to write tonight about the fact that we’re having our kitchen remodelled starting tomorrow morning, and all the chaos that that entails, but then something  happened to make it all pale into insignificance, and it’s all I can think of, so I’m writing about that instead.

This evening, DS dived head-first off the bed and landed on the wooden floor, on his head. His neck snapped back with a sickening crunch.

I know because I saw it happen. I was one step away. One tiny step; so near, but too far. Two hours later, and I’m still shaking.

What irresponsible mum puts their baby on the bed and leaves them unattended? Well, there was a bank of pillows along the edge of the bed (supposedly insurmountable), and I was in the room, watching, as I prepared the things I needed for his bath. Somehow, at the speed of light, he got around the pillows and was dangling for one slow-mo moment head-first over the edge of the bed as I leaped across the room, but not fast enough. He looked at me, startled (I was shouting ‘No! No! No!’). He fell.

He screamed a lot, of course. I called the paediatrician. He said it happens to everyone and mostly the babies are fine. He said it was good that DS cried; it’s good that he wasn’t knocked out and good that he didn’t vomit.  Of course I’m thinking about brain swelling and what happened to Natasha Richardson. It really doesn’t help that I’m currently reading Richard Hammond’s autobiography – all about brain injuries and the consequences.

I applied arnica gel and an ice pack to DS’s forehead. DS stopped screaming and even raised a laugh or two. He could move all his limbs. I got a headache in empathy.

It reminded me that nothing in the world means anything if your kids aren’t alright.

DS will have to crawl about on the floor eating dust bunnies from now on. Never again is he going on the bed.

Written by mrsdubai

January 9, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ouch! The poor little man, that must have been awful for both of you! I think its a boy thing too, my DS is either climbing up things or falling off things.

    Please keep us updated on your kitchen! Mine is being done at the end of the month, I cant wait to have a new kitchen (and a wine fridge 😉 ) but I am so nervous about getting it installed!

    TJ

    January 9, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    • Hi, having gone through what we have this week, my advice would be to move out for as much of it as possible…. good luck x

      mrsdubai

      January 13, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  2. oh no I hope he is ok! am sure it was more the shock than anything else. Sam fell down 3 steps the other day, I could hear the thud thud from the kitchen! Nasser looked away for literally a second…he was fine though, just sporting a lovely bruise on his forehead!

    Jules

    January 11, 2010 at 9:09 am

  3. OMG! I had no idea!!! Thank God he’s alright – are you ok? have you recovered? xxx

    Mrs Boss

    January 12, 2010 at 2:30 pm


Leave a Reply

