Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

An Eyeful At The Nail Salon

with 2 comments

So this morning I’m sitting there in Tips & Toes, minding my own business having my first pedicure in what feels like months (‘You’ve got scissors in your house, haven’t you?’ says my mother when I moan about not having time to get my nails done), when in walks a bit of a sight in a teensy-weensy little tennis skirt.

The layout of the salon means you can catch an eyeful from the person opposite. Ladies, please wear trousers!!!

Let me try to be diplomatic about this. The lady is no spring chicken and the legs look like they’ve never played a minute of tennis in their entire lives. They are not attractive legs. They are wobbly slabs of shapeless sausage meat with an extra serving of cellulite.

It gets worse. The layout of the salon means you have to straddle the foot bath before dropping your bum down into the seat with your legs wide apart. There are two rows of chairs facing each other, so there will always be someone across from you. That’s why I always, always, always wear trousers or shorts to the salon.

You can imagine what happened when the lady sat down. I winced. A full eyeful of wobbly granny pants, and it was only 9.30am.

The next lady came in, over-plumped lips leading the way. She was in a drifty long maxi dress. Thank god, I thought, but no! It was clearly not my morning, for she hitched it up high, straddled the chair and showed us all just what we didn’t want to see.

I’ll be getting the scissors out for a DIY pedi next time.

Written by mrsdubai

December 10, 2009 at 8:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We think we may have met your mum today at Christmas Drinks. We said we would write and say hello from Snowy Sidcup.

    Sue and Kevin Davison

    sue davison

    December 20, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    • Thank you! I hope she introduced herself as England’s Desperate Granny?

      mrsdubai

      December 22, 2009 at 10:08 pm


Leave a Reply

