Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

The Shopping Mall

with one comment

This morning I ran into Mall of the Emirates (that’s the mall with the ski slope, not the Biggest Mall in the Whole Wide World) to pay the Visa bill. It was literally supposed to be two minutes. There was no risk whatsoever that I’d get sucked into the vortex and be expelled an hour later with a new Tod’s handbag bag and a pair of Prada shoes because I was there before the shops opened.

Nothing like a bit of snow in the mall to get you in the mood for Christmas

Well, all except one. I couldn’t help but notice that Carrefour, the hypermarket, was open, its bright lights glaring over endless aisles of ‘stuff’. I never go into Carrefour but, today, I was taken with the idea it might be worth a look around and – I came out one hour and two bags later and let’s just say, I think DD’s Christmas stocking is sorted. Who knew Carrefour stocked such a lot of High School Musical and Hannah Montana merchandise, let alone the latest fiction releases?

By then, the shops had opened. And I did get sucked into the vortex. I felt myself going – legs first, followed by arms, heart and, finally, head.  FFFFFlump.

Ladies, fellow mums, you will understand this: I was alone in a quiet shopping mall full of Christmas things. I had no children, no baby, no pushchair, no nappy bag. It was a rare opportunity and one I embraced with open arms and an open wallet. By the time I finished ‘doing’ Christmas, the whole morning had gone and it was time to pick up DS from nursery.

 I like to think of it as my contribution to the good health of the UAE’s economy. Cheers!

Written by mrsdubai

November 18, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ho ho ho!

    MrsDicup

    November 19, 2009 at 3:20 am


Leave a Reply

