Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

DD – my eco-council champion

with 2 comments

DD was desperate to get on her school’s eco-council.  In order to qualify, she had to write a letter to the concerned teacher explaining what “green” measures she took in her day-to-day life.  I forget what she said now, but there was something about mummy using boxes not bags for packed lunches; mummy saying don’t turn on all the lights when you don’t need them; mummy saying turn off the fans when you leave the room; and, of course – the highlight – mummy recycling the 35 champagne bottles she drank (single-handedly of course) over Christmas (“along with all the other wine bottles!”)

Ho ho ho.

Still, despite (or perhaps because of) her alcoholic mother, DD was picked to be a member of eco-council and then a letter came home stating that she should come to the first meeting with some ideas on how to make the school greener.

I told her about this maybe 10 times. “Come on, DD. It’s not just a club,” I said. “You have to work!”

“Yeah, yeah,” she said. “I’ll think of something.”

And I don’t believe in doing her work for her, so I said nothing. Except: “You may like to suggest that the school turns up the a/c from -15C to about 23C. It would not only help the environment but save the school a ton of DEWA bills.” (And stop me having to wash the school sweatshirts every two days.)

”Huh?” said DD.

“And, while you’re at it, you might want to suggest the school adds some recycling bins in the lunch area so packed-lunch children can recycle their plastic, glass and cans?”

“Huh?” she said.

So off she went today, totally unprepared her first eco-council meeting.  I picked her up afterwards.

“How did it go?” I asked.

Eco-Council: it's all about the b-b-b-bling

Eco-Council: it’s all about the b-b-b-bling

“Great,” she said.

“Did you have to give your ideas?” I asked.

“Mmm,” she said. “Not really… but I got my badge.”

She showed me the beautiful, shiny metal Eco Council badge that she now has to wear every single day “while telling people to put their litter in the bins!” It looks a bit like a Prefect badge.

“Ah-ha,” I said. “Was it all about the badge?”

“Maybe,” she said, beaming. “Should I wear it on my tie or on my shirt?”

Written by mrsdubai

January 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haha so sweet! It’s all about the badge!! :) Great ideas though mum! x

    natasham

    January 21, 2014 at 1:20 pm

  2. I nominated you. Congrats!

    http://canadiansassysally.com/2014/01/22/my-very-first-blog-award-i-nominate-10-other-bloggers/

    Hope you girls get some more followers xx

    sassysally26

    January 22, 2014 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

