Dubai's Desperate Housewife

Trials and traumas of a full-time mum in Dubai

Food, Food, Glorious Food

with 3 comments

“The success of your shopping trips is measured purely on the food you’ve eaten,” said DH about me, once upon a time.

He was right, of course. No matter what I’ve bought or failed to buy when out shopping, my happiness is more linked to the food I’ve eaten than it is to my purchases. It’s very simple:

-         A failed attempt to buy something + a good lunch in Carluccio’s = a happy shop.

-         Fantastic shopping + miserable food = miserable Desperate Housewife.

One of the things I’ve been enjoying most about England is the food. I’m not talking about the chef’s table at some Ramsay emporium, nor about the latest trendy bistro in town. Rather, those delicious – and so unexpected – moments in average pubs and cafes.

God love M&S: Sealed glasses of wine for sale next to the sandwiches

Maybe I’ve just been in Dubai too long. But when you go into some rubbish-looking chain café in a shopping mall and order some run-of-the-mill dish and it comes with a large glass of wine and tastes exquisite, I nearly fall of my chair in delight.

It’s probably why I must have put on about 3kgs in the last two weeks. I haven’t weighed myself, but I can feel it in my tummy; in the jiggle as I walk up the stairs; in the bloat as I sit at the computer.

In Dubai, I’m really careful about what I eat. I weigh myself every day. People have nicknamed me “sparrow” for the teensy size of my portions (really!). I manage to maintain a reasonable size.

Since I’ve been in England I’ve fallen hard for pub lunches, drinking at lunchtime, chip-shop chips, M&S sandwiches (450 cals in a cheese sandwich!), M&S tiny desserts, Pizza Express 14” pizzas and creamy desserts.

DH leaves tomorrow. I’m going to stop eating and start running. Either that, or I’ll have to book an extra seat on the plane to get myself home at the end of the month.

Housewife's ruin: chip-shop chips

Written by mrsdubai

August 18, 2010 at 12:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank god you are doing it too! Are you really going to start running?…I’ve brought my trainers but so far failed to apply them to my feet. Are you sticking with the 5pm first glass rule (on Dubai timings) so that you can start your evening drinking at 2pm? xx

    Amanda

    August 19, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  2. I can soooo relate. Ate, and ate, and drank, and drank at every cafe across Europe I think. My landing back in the land of sand… will take some getting used to again. Ugh!

    Enjoy it while you can!

    barelynoticeable

    August 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm

  3. OMG i LOVED those glasses of wine in M&S – genius!

    Britney of Arabia

    September 1, 2010 at 4:05 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,947 other followers

